What We Need

by utxpatrick

This week, in preparation for our upcoming mission trip, we have been reading through Galatians.  The current passage is chapter 2.  A lot of this is dealing with the difficulty of reconciling the Greek (Gentile) and Jewish cultures through the lens of Christianity.  As Paul closes the chapter he states one of the more summarizing scriptures of the book.

Galatians 2:20 – I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.  And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (ESV)

The verse clearly explains our position once receiving the gift of salvation.  Once we have given ourselves to Christ’s grace we are no longer in control but rather He lives in us.  The challenge is to continually give ourselves to what He is calling, yet the verse tells us that faith is what we must have.  It also clearly defines Christ’s love – He did not say it but lived it by giving Himself for us.

In so many ways this short verse shows us our need for Christ.  We needed Him to give His life that we might be saved, we need Him living in us that we might have faith, and we need Him to live through us that we might please the Father rather than our own flesh.

